Uber, the popular taxi-hailing app, has released new updates to its app. The new updates have caused uproar because of what many people consider to be an attempt by the company to intrude into the privacy of individuals. The crux of the matter is that now, the app requires you to allow it to track your location even when it is running in the background. The app also asks you to let it monitor your movement for five minutes after you alight from a cab. Here are three things about this recent update of the app that you need to know.

1. Uber is determined to collect as much information about you as possible

One of the things that make Uber highly competitive is the treasure of data that it collects and uses. The company is continuously collecting data about how its clients move, order for a ride and the time that they take on their trips. The company collects all this information to streamline its services. However, you should remember that the new update is meant to help the company understand a lot of things about your movements. That is why the company wants to know your precise location all the time and even after you have alighted from a cab.

2.  The new updates are optional, or are they?

You do not have to allow the app to follow you all the time even after you have alighted from a cab. You may deny the app the right to track you all the time. However, if you choose this option, you end up losing some important functionalities of the app. For example, if you do not allow the app to give information about your location to Uber all the time, you will have to go through a lengthy process when requesting for a ride.

3. The danger of hackers

Although this has not happened, we cannot rule out the possibility of its occurrence in the future. Experts keep on imagining what will happen if ever hackers succeed to breach the Uber system and run away with the data that the company maintains. However, since this has not occurred, we keep hoping that it will never happen.

In conclusion, the new updates on the Uber app are meant to give the company access to more data about your movements. However, the choice of whether or not to allow the app to collect this information and give it to Uber is entirely yours.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *