Viewing what you browse online – Three methods to use

As you may know, social media websites ask us to share data in many ways. Hence, most people end up sharing more than they would prefer. As well, we share data on websites that we no longer access. Sometimes the data we share is visible to others without our knowledge.

That’s why we all need to understand and restrict what we share. It is a good method of ensuring that we stay safe online. To view the data you share online, use the following three methods.

Examine your Facebook public profile

To restrict the information you share on Facebook, do the following.

  • Access your profile page. Click on the small arrow shown on the top right corner of your Facebook window.
  • Choose Settings from the drop-down menu.
  • Choose Timeline and Tagging. Look for it on the left-hand side of the window.
  • Pick View as. It is right next to Review what other people can see on your timeline. After this, you will see your profile page. On this page, you will view what other people see. These people are not your Facebook friends. If there is a lot data about you, delete the posts related to it. Then change your privacy settings.

Google +

  • Access your Google + account. On the left hand corner, on the top of your window, choose Profile.
  • Choose a drop-down menu found to the right of the main menu. Select View profile as.
  • Choose Public. Whatever you will see is exactly what other people see. And note that these people are not your circles of friends.
  • Go to Settings. Select Profile and then uncheck or check the tabs as necessary.

LinkedIn

Here you should aim to change your public profile settings. When people search for your name on search engines, they see your LinkedIn profile. Your public profile on LinkedIn needs control. Here is how:

  • Go to your picture area to view the main menu. Choose Privacy and Settings.
  • Click Profile to see Edit your Public Profile.
  • Choose what you would rather change. Just check or uncheck boxes found under Customize your Public Profile. It is on the right side of your screen.

Note: You can use Hide.me or any other good VPN to hide your browsing activities.

Image courtesy of Pixabay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *